Blessing the Animals (Horses in Church)

Last Sunday was the popular Blessing of the Animals service at
St. Andrew’s Episcopal
Church (in Saratoga, California). We took our two cockatiels (Simon and Garfunkel) to church in their cage. The blessings started with two draft horses and a very-small-looking regular horse cloping down the aisle.
Our birds are not shy so they made loud squawks during
the sermon. There was much dog visiting and some barking on this one day
when the animals come to church to honor
St. Francis of Assisi
. The first hymn was from 1848:

All things bright and beautiful,

All creatures great and small,

All things wise and wonderful:

The Lord God made them all.

DSCN5454 DSCN5472 DSCN5476
DSCN5481 DSCN5491 DSCN5524 DSCN5530

Images Copyright 2009 by Katy Dickinson and John Plocher

1 Comment

Filed under Church

One response to “Blessing the Animals (Horses in Church)

  1. Crew

    Another town another place,
    Another girl, another face,
    Another truck, another race,
    I’m eating junk, feeling bad,
    Another night, I’m going mad,
    My woman’s leaving, I feel sad,
    But I just love the life I lead,
    Another beer is what I need,
    Another gig my ears bleed,
    Another town I’ve left behind,
    Another drink completely blind,
    Another hotel I can’t find,
    Another backstage pass for you,
    Another tube of super glue,
    Another border to get through,
    I’m driving like a maniac,
    Driving way to hell and back,
    Another room a case to pack,
    Another hotel we can burn,
    Another screw, another turn,
    Another Europe map to learn,
    Another truckstop on the way,
    Another game that I can play,
    Another word I learn to say,
    Another blasted customs post,
    Another bloody foreign coast,
    Another set of scars to boast,

Leave a Reply

