New Wikipedia Entry: Katherine Johnson

My husband John and I just spent most of the afternoon creating a new  Wikipedia entry about Computer Science Pioneer Katherine Johnson (based on my 23 December 2009 blog entry). My daughter Jessica also advised on the project. Even though we started out with all of the information in HTML, we ended up reworking the text and references to fit into Wikipedia’s format and style. My initial Wikipedia discussion comment indicated that the blog entry came first, yet within seconds of publication, an automatic searchbot tagged the article
as a near-duplication of my original blog entry. I went left a second comment acknowledging the source.

This is my first original Wikipedia entry. I started thinking about what I could add to Wikipedia after reading Clay Shirky’s excellent 2008 book Here Comes Everybody earlier this year. Jessica is reading my copy of Shirky’s book now and adding her margin comments to mine.
I am curious to see what kind of comments are made on the Katherine Johnson Wikipedia entry and whether any valuable information is added.

1 Comment

Filed under News & Reviews

One response to “New Wikipedia Entry: Katherine Johnson

  1. Hi : I am Jakeyla Adams From Theordore Roosevelt Located In Gary Indiana . My Class Is Doing A Power Point On Mathematicians . I Picked You I Have Learned Alot About you You Are A VEry Smart, Brave, And Confident Women I Wish I Couls See More pictures Of You To USe For My Power POint . :))

Leave a Reply

