Goodbye Sun – It’s Been a Great Ride!

My last blog post at http://blogs.sun.com/katysblog/:

I have been laid off by Sun-Oracle. It has been a wonderful 25 years!

I joined a relatively-unknown startup three years before it went public. I enjoyed working with some of the greatest Engineers on Earth and together we made Sun a success which changed the world. I had a splendid ride. I worked for Sun since 1984 in Engineering, Marketing, Quality, Operations, Legal, Standards, Strategy, and finally for the Chief Technologist’s Organization and Sun Labs. I am looking forward to the next adventure.

I hope that the SEED worldwide mentoring program participants, mentors, and managers will create new programs and opportunities in all of the new places they will go. For those who stay with Sun-Oracle: keep contact and support each other. There is nothing like SEED now at Oracle. Consider creating it, locally or globally. It will take too much time and an unreasonable amount of work but it will be worth it. It has been an honor and privilege to create this worldwide Engineering community and to work with such inspiring people. I hope you will continue to work with each other and with me. Please connect with me on LinkedIn and Facebook.

I have two wonderful kids who have grown up running around at Sun. Jessica is now a Junior at CMU (in Qatar for a Semester at CMU-Q) and Paul is in High School. Sun is their lifetime context for work. My husband, John Plocher and I met at Sun and I were lucky enough to work at Sun together for 17 years.

2005-2010 http://blogs.sun.com/katysblog/ entries and new additions are now available here at https://katysblog.wordpress.com/.

I welcome your job recommendations. Your support is always appreciated.

How to Find Katy Dickinson After 29 January 2010

Katy Dickinson Process Queen 2006 Poster, used with permission

Image Copyright 2006 Sun Microsystems, Used with Permission

Blog entry by Katy Dickinson

6 Comments

Filed under Home & Family, Mentoring & Other Business, News & Reviews

6 responses to “Goodbye Sun – It’s Been a Great Ride!

  1. Hey Katy –

    Good luck with your new beginnings!

    Best,

    Gerry

  2. Sean

    I’m very sorry to hear about this. Frankly, I’m having trouble getting my head around the notion of Sun without Katy Dickinson. You were my first manager at the beginning of my career and I’ve always appreciated your help and guidance since then. If there’s anything I can do, please let me know.

    -Sean

  3. Pingback: Skype from Qatar « KatysBlog

  4. Very sorry to hear that you were RIFed at Sun. Its a sad day. Toastmasters@Sun was a unique experience with you, but I have admired your other various activities at Sun.
    Your passion, your dedication, your immersion into Sun made an immense impact.
    You’ve had quite a career at Sun; I hope the next stage is just as exciting for you.
    Good luck and hope to stay in touch. We will certainly miss you.

    Vijay

  5. Pingback: Family Finance Review « KatysBlog

  6. Pingback: Expensive Valentine’s Day « KatysBlog

Leave a Reply

