1,001 Post, Diabetes Society Camp Registration

This is my 1,001 blog post since 2005!

Last week, I started working as the Camp Registrar for the Diabetes Society in Willow Glen, California.  My friend Kat Carpenter (who at 20-ish is also an officer of the newly-chartered Willow Glen Lions Club) is the Camp Director.  I decided to take this position as a contractor not because of the glamor or great pay but because it is a job that needs doing and it will help get me thinking new thoughts and making new contacts.  After 26 years working for Sun Microsystems, I think a change in perspective will help me in transitioning to a new regular job.

The Diabetes Society has been through some serious financial troubles recently.  However, they are now reorganized and offering their summer camps for kids and teens with Type 1 Diabetes. Three of the camps are already full with waiting lists.  Usually camp registration starts in January but this year it opened in March. I have been getting the records set up, sorting out the checks and credit card payments, updating web pages, answering the Camp Department phone, and generally helping out. John has been supporting me and helping with the Diabetes Society’s IT infrastructure. My knowledge of Microsoft Excel and Word Mail Merge is increasing daily!

1 Comment

Filed under Home & Family, News & Reviews

One response to “1,001 Post, Diabetes Society Camp Registration

  1. Pingback: Diabetes Society of Maldives | Diabetes Effect

Leave a Reply

