Like Flowers But Much Heavier

IMG_6983

I brought home a load of thirty boulders on Sunday.

My late father loved his garden. On family vacations, he and I would compete for who could find the best stones to wedge into the car to take home to our rock gardens. Since the family house in San Francisco sold and the new owners will be redesigning the landscaping, I am moving the boulders out of my father’s garden into mine. Each rock has to be fitted into its new place – like flower arranging but much heavier.

Long ago, our family used to rent a vacation cabin at Fallen Leaf Lake in the mountains near Tahoe. We were last there in 1996 for my father’s 70th birthday party. The cabin was in an area where the rocks are grey and white striped. Both my father and I brought some of these wonderful stones home. On Sunday afternoon, I gardened with my father – arranging his boulders with mine around my silly concrete hippo.

Image by Katy Dickinson Copyright 2012

Leave a comment

Filed under Home & Family, News & Reviews

Leave a Reply

