Wade’s Favorite Ties

IMG_5611

My father, Wade Dickinson, liked to dress very well. When he passed away in 2011, my brothers and I distributed his excellent clothes to family members or charity, depending on the condition. In rearranging our basement to make room for installing the new furnace, I found a bag of six of my father’s favorite neckties, pictured above. It was interesting to see how many of his lifelong areas of study and passion were reflected in these sartorial accessories.  From left to right, top to bottom:

  • Eagle and shield – silver on navy – probably a West Point momento.  My father was graduated from the United States Military Academy in 1949.
  • Bah Humbug – red and navy – reflecting my father’s lifelong Scrooge-like hatred of the waste and expense of Christmas.
  • Pigs – silver on red – in honor of my father’s many years (and many patents) studying how to promote food animal growth through the application of Physics.  His company name for this work was AgroPhysics.
  • Bears and stripes – The Cal Golden Bear mascot, from his many years teaching the University of California at Berkeley class Engineering-110, “Venture Design: The Start-up Company”.
  • Cows – Black and white on blue – in honor of my father’s many years (and many patents) studying how to promote food animal growth through the application of Physics.  His company name for this work was AgroPhysics.
  • Owls – silver on red – the mascot of the Bohemian Club of which my father was a lifelong member.

Here is a 1993 portrait of Wade Dickinson, taken by my mother, Eleanor Creekmore Dickinson:

1993.wade.portrait1

Images Copyright 1993-2013 by Katy Dickinson and Eleanor Creekmore Dickinson

Leave a comment

Filed under Home & Family

Leave a Reply

