Grace Hopper Conference – GHC13

P1080013

I came home yesterday after an inspiring day at the Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing.  I joined 4,600 other technical women at the sold-out GHC13 in Minneapolis, MN.  My GHC13 day started at 6:30 am switching my bag to a downtown hotel (all hotels near the convention center were sold out for the day I arrived), then to breakfast hosted by Facebook Chief Operating Officer Sheryl Sandberg, followed by a keynote panel with Maria Klawe (President, Harvey Mudd College), Sheryl Sandberg, and Telle Whitney (President, Anita Borg Institute).  Then,  Trish Tierney (of the Institute of International Education) and I presented on “Empowering Technical Women Through Global Mentoring” and later I presented a poster on the “Lifetime Value of Mentoring“.  My daughter Jessica Dickinson Goodman also presented her poster on “The Arduino Dress“. The poster next to mine was “Girl Scouts: An Analysis of STEM Activities and a Call to Action” by Maria Ebling of IBM Research. Jessica and I got back to our hotel room by 10 pm with bags of loot and tshirts from GHC’s wonderful sponsor companies, universities, and organizations.

I flew back to the Bay Area yesterday in time to have dinner with my new TechWomen mentee from Algeria. She and I are going to another event together tonight and plan to tour San Francisco this weekend, as well as seeing the musical 1776 at the American Conservatory Theater.

P1080006 . P1080004

P1080029

P1080031

P1080046

P1080086

Images Copyright 2013 by Katy Dickinson

Leave a comment

Filed under Home & Family, Hopper - Anita Borg Institute, Mentoring & Other Business, News & Reviews

Leave a Reply

