“Positive Women” by Sam Kambali

P1150862

Last week in Kigali, Rwanda, I was one of the TechWomen delegates who bought a painting at the Inema Art Center gallery. Since my mother, Eleanor Dickinson, and son, Paul D. Goodman, are both artists, I have very little free wallspace. However, I very much liked “Positive Women” by Sam Kambali.  The painting is a collage of carefully-selected strips of African cloth forming the bodies of women, many of whom are raising their arms in salute. “Positive Women” seemed appropriate to the subject of our delegation (encouraging women and girls to pursue careers in STEM fields) and to the energy, enthusiasm, and remarkable professional success of the delegation members themselves. Part of its charm is that this painting incorporates the delightful variety and color of cloth we saw everywhere we went in Rwanda.

I had the gallery take the painting off its stretcher bars so I could transport it rolled up. Today, I brought “Positive Women” home from being re-mounted: my new painting is now hanging in WP668 (my office in our backyard caboose in San Jose, California).  Here  I am in Kigali with Sam Kambali, the artist:

P1140657

P1150743

Images Copyright 2014 by Katy Dickinson

1 Comment

Filed under Caboose Project and Other Trains, Home & Family, Mentoring & Other Business, News & Reviews

One response to ““Positive Women” by Sam Kambali

  1. i like this blog of katy am the artist who made the painting of katy
    called positive women but am always happy see this blog God bless u katy

Leave a Reply

