Shopping in Morocco

P1180169

Part of my enjoyment in traveling is eating local dishes, seeing what people wear and use in daily life, and shopping accordingly for gifts to take home to family and friends. During my recent visit to Morocco (6-15 March 2014), I purchased a 4’x6′ red kilim vintage Berber rug (in Fez), ceramics (in Rabat), a silver bracelet for my son Paul (in Rabat), and cinnamon spice (hotter than what we get in America), silver earrings for my mother and me, a geode for my nephew Daniel, and leather slippers (in Fez). I also brought home two Fez hats: one for my brother Pete and the other for Jill Finlayson’s husband – since she could not find one before she had to travel home. I am happy with my momentoes and, in the case of my big rug purchase, will enjoy seeing it every day in my WP668 office. I was also a member of the  TechWomen delegation to Morocco in 2011, at which time I also bought rugs in Marrakech.  I am now on a rug diet!

P1180355

P1170422

P1180264

Images Copyright 2014 by Katy Dickinson

Leave a comment

Filed under Home & Family, Mentoring & Other Business, News & Reviews

Leave a Reply

