Getting to Ethiopia

P1190769

I finally arrived in Ethiopia a few hours ago, after traveling from Wednesday through Friday nights. A trip planned for 24 hours took double that due to a bad connection – and included an overnight stay in Frankfurt, Germany. I haven’t seen much except airports, airplanes, clouds, and movies since I left San Francisco. I was glad that the Goethe statue still graces the Frankfurt airport, and I learned that pretzel dough makes an interesting breakfast croissant.

I am in Addis Ababa to participate in the first-ever Pan-African Medical Doctors Healthcare Conference next week.  This is my third trip to Africa since January, although my first to Ethiopia. I am working with People to People, one of the conference sponsors. One of my interesting assignments is to interview key leaders and dignitaries of the conference. I plan to visit the ancient monolithic rock-cut churches at Lalibela after the conference. Of course, I will post details here as they develop!

P1190753

P1190725

P1190718

Images Copyright 2014 by Katy Dickinson

Leave a comment

Filed under News & Reviews

Leave a Reply

