Re-Learning the San Francisco Mission

P1220480

I am enjoying working at Everwise in San Francisco as their new Vice President – Mentoring.  It is particularly fun to get re-acquainted with my hometown. I worked for years in our family business – in a building that does not exist any more.  It was on Steuart Street at the base of Mission, across from what is now the Rincon Center but used to be the Rincon Annex US Post Office.  I used to love looking at the WPA murals while waiting in line to refill our postal meter.

In the last two weeks, I have discovered an inexpensive place to park ($10/day instead of the $28/day I paid at first), and delightful places to eat closeby:

I have also admired the newly refurbished LeRoy King carousel and plan to ride it soon!

I am still working out how best to manage the San Jose – SF – San Jose commute.  This takes between 1 hour 30 minutes, and 2 hours each way – depending on when I start. My husband John and I have both driven and taken the train. When he works from home, I have driven alone. Caltrain is less expensive ($18/day round trip) but I need to walk a mile from the station – so I arrive later and have to leave earlier. There are very few express (“Baby Bullet”) trains.  If I ride a milk train, the trip is 50 minutes longer. Driving costs about $38/day ($.55/mile x 50 miles + $10 parking) but allows a flexible work schedule.

P1220481

P1220527

P1220594

P1220599

P1220602

P1220470

Images Copyright 2014 by Katy Dickinson

Leave a comment

Filed under Home & Family, Mentoring & Other Business, News & Reviews

Leave a Reply

