Salt Lake City tomorrow!

Untitled

I will fly to Salt Lake City, Utah, tomorrow to attend the 78th triennial General Convention of the Episcopal Church where I am honored to join the GC Deputation from the Diocese of El Camino Real (ECR). Three of the ECR Deputation were elected from my home parish, Saint Andrew’s Episcopal Church in Saratoga, California. Yesterday, Rev. Channing Smith and the whole congregation blessed and commissioned Canon Linda, Tim, and me during service. The ECR Deputation who will be joining our Bishop Mary Gray-Reeves in Salt Lake City includes four clergy and for lay members:

Clergy Lay
Delegates .
Maly Hughes, The Rev. (Deputation Chair) Jeff Diehl, Mr.
Rob Fisher, The Rev. Celeste Ventura, Ms.
Linda Taylor, The Rev. Canon Timothy Gee, Mr.
Terry Gleeson, The Rev. Diana Trapani, Ms.
Alternates .
Thomas Sramek, Jr., The Rev. Katy Dickinson, Ms.

As the First Alternates, Tom and I will give the Delegates a break during long sessions, we can also check out GC meetings and events, and we are the official diocesan bloggers as well. As you can see from the table above, I have been collecting social media connections for everyone so that when we blog and tweet and update Facebook, we can easily feature individuals.  The Delegation are not the only ones coming from ECR to GC. I know that Melita Thorpe will be there with the Vergers and some spouses and partners (including my husband John Plocher) can join us for part of the two weeks.  (Any others?)

My blog posts will be on both my home site and on the diocesan website.  ECR readers may find it strange when I explain basics for my regular readers (many of whom are not Christian). For those who want more: GC orientation videos, and information on the 4 Presiding Bishop candidates are available, as is the GC website.  GC has a mobile website and for the first time will be distributing documents via a virtual binder on iPad rather than on paper this year.  So, there should be a great deal of information available to remote participants and lurkers.

I encourage everyone to send me comments or questions!

Untitled

Images Copyright 2015 by Katy Dickinson

1 Comment

Filed under Church, News & Reviews

One response to “Salt Lake City tomorrow!

  1. Channing Smith

    Excellent information. Thank you, Katy. I look forward to following what is happening at GC78 through these links.

Leave a Reply

